Service: Kids Community Spring Fair 2013

kidsfairhdMany are the plans of a man’s heart but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21

Wow! We serve an amazing God. We had an abundance of children/family participants and community partner volunteers. Everything we needed, God provided. Helmets, healthy food, education session, gym equipment, and most importantly LOVE was provided by volunteers and community partners. In fact we had one additional community partner volunteer join us that we did not anticipate. It was a huge Blessing as this Person of Peace filled a gap in both dentistry and connection to the Somali community. The community partners were from all segments of society: Faith, school, government, private business and non profit. What is even more amazing is that the school and government participants came to us, seeking to participate in our service project. When I was initially contacted about them joining us, I was a bit confused. I thought “Don’t they know this event is in a Church and hosted by Believers in Christ? Aren’t they scared by the scriptures I have posted on my email (as one colleague suggested and insisted I delete as to not potentially offend those who don’t Believe)?” I mean after all the world systems tell us schools, government, and other nations like the Somali community want nothing to do with people like us (Christians). Abba told me to rest and let Him do the work. Abba called me to do two things: love and serve.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another. John 13:34-35

I remember asking God these questions as a youth: why I was born with brown skin and of the African Diaspora, why I grew up in the inner city amongst all walks of life especially the poor when my parents did not financially have to. I felt and often received ostracism in my youth by peers my Midwestern community as it was “common knowledge” (lies of the enemy) brown skinned people were not as beautiful as fair skinned people and all blacks who live in the inner city are underclassed including me. I resented being of the African Diaspora, resented my parents not moving to the suburbs like many of my peers families did, and I resented being told by oppressionists that because I was of the African Diaspora and from the inner city I was less than they. Fast forward into my thirties and Abba revealed to me that it was those painful racial experiences in my youth and sacrifices made my parents to live Christ by associating and living amongst the poor in my hometown as Romans 12:16 calls that equipped me more than most to do this particular work for the Kingdom. God gave me the call two years ago to love the children and families in the communities much like the one I grew up in. Now I answer. Amen

Highlights from the Kids Community Fair

A kindergartner asking a teenager “How old are you?” The teenager responding “Seventeen”. The kindergartner responding “Wow, you’re old!” The teenager responding “She just called me old.” Me thinking to myself “Just wait until you turn thirty!”

An elderly Somali woman and daughter donating to the Clothing Closet, accepting a cup of coffee and coming in only to be pleasantly surprised by our Person of Peace Somali volunteer (middle aged gentleman) who engaged them in coffee conversation. Shortly after several more Somali friends appeared at the coffee table for conversation.

Leave a Reply & Sign up to Follow this Blog

